A rock band based in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, Silent was imagined and created in February of 91 by Gus Andriew. The goal was to start a band that in two moths would already have material ready to be presented in a first concert. For that he summoned friends, like Luiz “Tilly” Alexandre who had already been on past musical ventures, on the drums, followed by Marcoz Ferraz on the bass, and lastly Alexandre França on lead guitar.

Their first show was on April 25th of 1991 and brought in a crowd of about 900 people. In January of 92 SILENT shot their first music video (For the song Watching), that was selected to premier on MTV Brazil’s show called “Demo MTV” and was included in the regular channel programming.

In 1993 they stared in the soundtrack of a Brazilian soap opera produced by Globo TV and In the years of 96 and 97 that would repeat itself, which finally lead to the release of the album “The Bright Side” in 2001, that received raved reviews from around the world, even scoring an 83 grade in the well-known Japanese magazine Burnn. That year also marked the leave of Gus Andriew from the band.

From 2002 to 2005 the band tried to reinvent itself and release new material, but all of theses efforts were in vain, and the band broke up.

In 2006 Gus, Alexandre França and Tilly rejoined in a modern Brazilian rock act called Repplica. This project ended in 2010.

In December of 2010, Gus, Alexandre and Tilly, found themselves on a bar table throwing around ideas, when Alexandre suggested that they should give new life to the once forgotten idea of SILENT, and they decided to schedule their first come back rehearsal after the holidays, in January of 2011. Destiny had a different plan, and, Alexandre França passed away alongside his wife and his son, in one of the worst natural disasters of Brazilian history.

After one year of grieving, Gus and Tilly decided to carry on with their friend’s plan. 2012 and 2013 were dedicated to forming a new quartet, and rerecording old songs from the original repertoire of the first years of the band, and also writing new songs.

With a new formation defined in 2014, Gus Andriew on the guitar and vocals, Alex Cavalcanti on the guitar, Douglas Boiago on the bass, and Luiz “Tilly” Alexandre on the drums, they start recording their second album.

In 2015, with their new album “Land Of Lightning” ready, videos from the beginning of their careers salvaged, and a new single/music video ready to be released, the band signed their first contract with the recording label Planet Music Brazil.

In November 2015 the Video For Around The Sun started in Silent’s YouTube channel SilentVevo and the album Land Of Lightning is released worldwide in digital format.

July 2016 marks the release of Land Of Lightning Limited Edition CD with a bonus track included – a new recording of the song Love Is, from their first album.